arrow_upward

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
You know what? I'm going to tell you a story!
It's after midnight and I'm wide awake. I don't really want to be, but I am.

I already have this month's posts covered and enough for a VPS, but that doesn't concern me. I enjoy writing!

I'm going to tell you why I don't play weddings anymore.

If you're unaware, the short version is that I am a mostly retired musician. Even when I had a real job, I have pretty much spent most of my life involved in music. Musicians are poor, so many of us play for a small secondary income - but it really is more that we enjoy it than it is about money.

And it is a pretty enjoyable thing to being music to people. It's great that we get to make them dance, sing along, and forget about life for a little while. However, it's not always as good as you might expect.

No, most of us don't have a backstage with hookers and blow. In fact, we're lucky if we even get a dressing room. Most of us are't stars with lucrative concerts.

Which is why we take gigs like playing at a wedding...

The last wedding I played was in June of 1998. I remember the year and month exactly, because I've refused to play another wedding. Weddings have, almost always, been more drama and hassle than any other kind of gig. It's a pain to get paid. It's a pain to satisfy the organizers. It's a pain to emcee the event. They just suck.

I was with a band called Kaös. The umlauts are important, but not for reasons that I'll get into today. Our lead singer was named Paul. Our drummer was also named Paul. So, we called the drummer "Wog", short for pollywog.

The night before the wedding, Wog had (we're pretty sure) had sex with the bride-to-be. At the very least, they were in a bedroom alone for quite some time and there were interesting noises coming from that room. I'm pretty sure they had sex.