Problems activating your account? Send notification email to: admin@post4vps.com
Host4Fun Budget VPS Hosting

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
VPS 5 Review | Shadow Hosting
#11
(12-07-2018, 08:55 PM)deanhills Wrote:  I found the following info on the Web about the Meltdown and Spectre CPU bugs explained. Kind'a scary. Looks as though the Spectre bug can allow attackers to steal information from the memory of a program because of a flaw in the design of the CPU. It is a very well known and documented flaw for which there are patches available for both Microsoft and Linux. Maybe someone should alert Manal (create a support ticket for it) so he can submit a ticket to Hetzner as I'm sure Hetzner will know how to patch it because it's a well known bug and serious enough for them to pay attention. They will also have their own patch - I'm sure - for fixing it. Surprising that Hetzner hasn't picked up on it.
https://blog.barkly.com/meltdown-spectre-bugs-explained

Wonder whether there are other VPS CPU's with the same bug, but we haven't picked up on it yet because we haven't tested for it?

if I may ask - the report that reflected the flaw that you quoted. Was that quoted from the Benchmark Report?

No need to worry. I have informed Hetzner about the same and we both are working on to get this issue resolved as soon as possible.
Reply
#12
(12-09-2018, 07:00 PM)Manal Wrote:  No need to worry. I have informed Hetzner about the same and we both are working on to get this issue resolved as soon as possible.
That sounds excellent - hope you will let us know of the outcome once they have responded to your support request.

I just found this info too - wonder whether they expect you to fix it for self-managed? Hopefully if that is the case they will provide you with the patches.
https://wiki.hetzner.de/index.php/Spectr...eltdown/en

Maybe @Hidden Refuge has a suggestion too?
[Image: 4ax8Kok.png]
Thank you to the Owner & Staff of Post4VPS and VirMach for an awesome VPS 9 experience!




Reply
#13
@Rehan,
Yep, to be honest. I was thinking twice to apply VPS 5 at the first time. I thought the same as you did.
But then, I really wanted the VPS 5. So I keep my application. I never know that I'll win, since @deanhills and @humanpuff69 are applying.
Then, they decline their application, I won, you too.

And, I think, yes, you're wrong :p

@humanpuff69,
Hahaha, I shocked too when you said it's only 1 cores, as my past VPS 8, it also have 2 vCores.
But, I keep applying and I'm pretty lucky. It's not 1, it's 2. And it's dedicated.

I think you should try to apply for VPS 5 instead of keeping your VPS 9 :p

@Manal,
Thanks for your fast response, I'm happy that you're now trying to resolve the issue with Hetzner.
I hope the issue will resolved as soon as possible.

@deanhills,
Thanks for your input to me, Dean! I always love how you give me critics for my thread.
I will try to edit it later. But, if you don't know, I'm not pretty nice in English, hahaha. But I will try to.

The support was nice, I saw @Manal all the time in the forum (hyperbole :p) and he's a nice person with nice support, he knows what he should do.
As a free user, I really satisfied with his support. He's quick and nice.

And as we can see, he's resolving the bugs pretty quick and he contacted Hetzner already to see what they can do with the VPS.

@tryp4vps and @perryoo11,
Yep, the Intel i7 is nice. It's 3rd generation, but it should not be really a problem for me.
And perry, why you're "meh" with the CPU?

@chanalku91,
Oh really? I never know it's like that. I was using Virtualizator only for a months before, since in January I won VPS 10, but as I can remember, in February I got VPS 8. Nah since that time, I'm using SolusVM. Not really a problem when switching to SolusVM to Virtualizator. That's the only problem that occured, I think it's there because it has VGA and we can use it, so then, I just turn it on.
Thanks to Shadow Hosting and Post4VPS for providing me excellent VPS 5!
Give me questions I can't answer not answers I can't question. - Richard Feynman
Reply
#14
(12-10-2018, 08:22 AM)tiwil Wrote:  @Rehan,
Yep, to be honest. I was thinking twice to apply VPS 5 at the first time. I thought the same as you did.
But then, I really wanted the VPS 5. So I keep my application. I never know that I'll win, since @deanhills and @humanpuff69 are applying.
Then, they decline their application, I won, you too.

And, I think, yes, you're wrong :p

@humanpuff69,
Hahaha, I shocked too when you said it's only 1 cores, as my past VPS 8, it also have 2 vCores.
But, I keep applying and I'm pretty lucky. It's not 1, it's 2. And it's dedicated.

I think you should try to apply for VPS 5 instead of keeping your VPS 9 :p

@Manal,
Thanks for your fast response, I'm happy that you're now trying to resolve the issue with Hetzner.
I hope the issue will resolved as soon as possible.

@deanhills,
Thanks for your input to me, Dean! I always love how you give me critics for my thread.
I will try to edit it later. But, if you don't know, I'm not pretty nice in English, hahaha. But I will try to.

The support was nice, I saw @Manal all the time in the forum (hyperbole :p) and he's a nice person with nice support, he knows what he should do.
As a free user, I really satisfied with his support. He's quick and nice.

And as we can see, he's resolving the bugs pretty quick and he contacted Hetzner already to see what they can do with the VPS.

@tryp4vps and @perryoo11,
Yep, the Intel i7 is nice. It's 3rd generation, but it should not be really a problem for me.
And perry, why you're "meh" with the CPU?

@chanalku91,
Oh really? I never know it's like that. I was using Virtualizator only for a months before, since in January I won VPS 10, but as I can remember, in February I got VPS 8. Nah since that time, I'm using SolusVM. Not really a problem when switching to SolusVM to Virtualizator. That's the only problem that occured, I think it's there because it has VGA and we can use it, so then, I just turn it on.

At least Activate VGA acceleration if the VPS provides its Features xD
Thank You Host4Fun And Post4Vps For Cool VPS
•<>•
Password To Talk To Me : Luwak White Coffe Bikin Perut Jadi Hangat
Reply
#15
(12-10-2018, 08:22 AM)tiwil Wrote:  @Rehan,
Yep, to be honest. I was thinking twice to apply VPS 5 at the first time. I thought the same as you did.
But then, I really wanted the VPS 5. So I keep my application. I never know that I'll win, since @deanhills and @humanpuff69 are applying.
Then, they decline their application, I won, you too.

And, I think, yes, you're wrong :p

@humanpuff69,
Hahaha, I shocked too when you said it's only 1 cores, as my past VPS 8, it also have 2 vCores.
But, I keep applying and I'm pretty lucky. It's not 1, it's 2. And it's dedicated.

I think you should try to apply for VPS 5 instead of keeping your VPS 9 :p

@Manal,
Thanks for your fast response, I'm happy that you're now trying to resolve the issue with Hetzner.
I hope the issue will resolved as soon as possible.

@deanhills,
Thanks for your input to me, Dean! I always love how you give me critics for my thread.
I will try to edit it later. But, if you don't know, I'm not pretty nice in English, hahaha. But I will try to.

The support was nice, I saw @Manal all the time in the forum (hyperbole :p) and he's a nice person with nice support, he knows what he should do.
As a free user, I really satisfied with his support. He's quick and nice.

And as we can see, he's resolving the bugs pretty quick and he contacted Hetzner already to see what they can do with the VPS.

@tryp4vps and @perryoo11,
Yep, the Intel i7 is nice. It's 3rd generation, but it should not be really a problem for me.
And perry, why you're "meh" with the CPU?

@chanalku91,
Oh really? I never know it's like that. I was using Virtualizator only for a months before, since in January I won VPS 10, but as I can remember, in February I got VPS 8. Nah since that time, I'm using SolusVM. Not really a problem when switching to SolusVM to Virtualizator. That's the only problem that occured, I think it's there because it has VGA and we can use it, so then, I just turn it on.

It's not worse. But the specs you get and you see it's a i7 3rth gen

I hoped it was like a e3 v1 or better
Reply
#16
(12-10-2018, 08:22 AM)tiwil Wrote:  @deanhills,
Thanks for your input to me, Dean! I always love how you give me critics for my thread.
I will try to edit it later. But, if you don't know, I'm not pretty nice in English, hahaha. But I will try to.

Nothing wrong with your English @tiwil. It's more a case of organising your thoughts and that comes with years of practice.

I've gone through your review quite a few times as there is plenty of info there - like the additional info you had for the CPU and the Cores - that I really liked. I used that to check my HostUS VPS just to see whether it also had the Meltdown or Spectre bug .... haha! But no - no bugs for my HostUS VPS. Or for VPS 9. Tongue
[Image: 4ax8Kok.png]
Thank you to the Owner & Staff of Post4VPS and VirMach for an awesome VPS 9 experience!




Reply
 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  HostUS.us VPS REVIEW deanhills 2 75 12-12-2018, 06:55 AM
Last Post: deanhills
  VPS Review | VirMach's VPS 9 | Location: Atlanta arsalahmed786 28 4,667 11-01-2018, 03:58 PM
Last Post: deanhills
  VPS 8 Review | Cubedata tiwil 11 411 10-18-2018, 10:58 PM
Last Post: tiwil
  VPS 9 Review - Phoenix Location deanhills 8 408 10-05-2018, 02:10 PM
Last Post: humanpuff69
  VPSVortex - KVM VPS Review tryp4vps 4 349 08-25-2018, 06:44 AM
Last Post: tryp4vps

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Sponsors: VirMach - Host4Fun - CubeData - Evolution-Host - HostDare - SSDBlaze - VPSlices - Abc-Hosters - Hyper Expert - Shadow Hosting - Bladenode - HostDoc - Hostlease


About Post4VPS

Post4VPS is a forum/destiny where you can Delploy Your Free VPSs just by the Power of Posts.

We Provide VPSs of many locations like Germany,US,Canada,France,London,etc.

We also Provide VPSs of Both Linux and Windows OS.