arrow_upward

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
How to test your VPS' network speed.
Information 
First, I'd like to thank my sponsors, Shadow Hosting and P4V for the fantastic VPS.

I'm fairly new to a few of these things, but I've been using Linux for a long time.

Today, I wanted to tell you how to check your VPS' network speed.

SSH into your VPS like normal.

Check to see if you have Python installed by typing:

python -v

If it's not installed, you can install it with:

sudo apt-get install python

or

yum install python

However, it's probably already installed for you.

Once you have it installed, you can use wget to get the speedtest.cli file. If, for some reason, you don't have wget installed, you can use one of the other install commands above and just change python to wget.

Grab the file like this:

wget -O speedtest-cli https://raw.githubusercontent.com/sivel/speedtest-cli/master/speedtest.py

Now, you'll haev to make it executable, by entering this:

chmod +x speedtest-cli

Now, you can run the python script with just this commend:

./speedtest-cli

If you'd like to share the results, just change the command to:

./speedtest-cli --share

You'll then get a URL in the resulting text and it will give you an image that you can share with other people.

The result looks like this:

[Image: 7877659948.png]

Which, as you can see, is pretty fantastic!

Click here for a list of other arguments.

I'll write more of these little tutorials as I go and as I learn (assuming I have time).
Happily sponsored by Shadow Hosting & Post4VPS!
Ah, you post such a nice tutorials.
But actually, I did it in more easy way.
sudo apt-get install speedtest-cli

Then it works like your command,
speedtest-cli --share

And as I can know, Hetzner and ShadowHosting's VPS is very-very fast!
Congratulations on your new VPS 5!
Thanks to Limitless Hosting and Post4VPS for providing me excellent VPS 13!