arrow_upward

Poll: Do you think VPS location is important?
You do not have permission to vote in this poll.
Yes
66.67%
No
33.33%
Total
6 vote(s)
100%

* You voted for this item.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Why VPS geographical location is so important?
Question 
Reading the post about the Cancellation of VPSs 15 & 16, I noticed that one of major aspect of their unpopularity its their geographical location, the US.
As my title says, I am new to the VPS Wolrd, I don't know why something such as geographical location should be important.
Can you help me understand it?

For what I know, the geographical location affects the latency. As example, I am from Italy, to be specific from Sicily (south of Italy), and these are the results of my pinging test:
  • Milan => min:28ms max:40ms avg:30.4ms (jitter 1.3ms)
  • Frankfurt => min:42ms max:68ms avg:44.8ms (jitter 2.2ms)
  • Paris => min:54ms max:93ms avg:56ms (jitter 3.6ms)
  • Moscow=> min:95ms max:157ms avg:97ms (jitter 9.2ms)
  • New York => min:124ms max:147ms avg:126.4ms (jitter 2ms)
  • Toronto => min:136ms max:166ms avg:138ms (jitter 2.7ms)
  • Miami => min:157ms max:171ms avg:159.2ms (jitter 1.3ms)
  • Tokyo => min:303ms max:306ms avg:304ms (jitter 0.6ms)
  • Hong Kong=> min:287ms max:298ms avg:289ms (jitter 1.2ms)
  • Sevilla => min:64ms max:147ms avg:79.9ms (jitter 5.8ms)
  • Mumbai => min:177ms max:182ms avg:178ms (jitter 0.9ms)

These tests are just a list of my own latency while communicating with these locations.
So if you want to run a game server, latency is one of the most important thing you have to think about. I am not very expert about game hosting, but... does a %number_between_50_to_100%ms make a difference? 
Except for unrealistic locations such as Tokyo and Hong Kong, all the latencies are below 200ms. For no-ping based games I think, correct me if I am wrong, it is a acceptable delay.