arrow_upward

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Installing Docker & Portainer on Debian 10
Brick 
Installing Docker & Portainer on Debian 10

Hello Post4VPS Community

A few days ago I was talking with a few work colleagues from the IT department in which I work as a full time staff at my current employer. We were talking about Docker and that we're looking forward to use it more and replace all our standalone Linux servers and applications with Docker containers to reduce work and maintenance load caused by them. We run a monitoring system, a ticket system and a UniFi controller on seperate physical and virtual Linux servers with different Debian OS versions (8 which is EOL soon if it isn't already and 9). Every of these services requires a web server, PHP (or Redis/Ruby) and a database engine. So you can image how much work it is to install all of this for each of the servers, install the individual applications and maintain everything over all the years. The company I work for is mid sized but we have several branches in addition to our main HQ. The IT department is basically too small to manage the amount of people and systems that we have. We have taken steps forward to fix this issue already by hosting some important servers off site through a IT contractor and we're looking forward to hire new staff.